Next Event

‘Potluck Awards Banquet’
Saturday, October 18th at 1:00 pm

More Details | 2014 Division Rules


Full Results

by Charlie Spry
Columbus, WI. (Friday, June 15, 2012). Veteran late model driver Don Gaserude took home his first feature victory of the season on Friday night, doing so in impressive fashion, also padding his point lead.

Scott Patrick and Nick Wendt brought the field to the green, with the pair racing side by side for the first few laps. Patrick finally took the lead on lap 6, while shortly thereafter the caution was displayed for a shunt in turn three which also later caused another shunt in turn one-two as the field attempted to slow. Curt Clapper and Nick Wendt retired to the pits with damage, with Clapper returning. Patrick again took the lead on the restart, but now had Al Weishoff, Nick Nolden and Gaserude hot on his heels. Nolden attempted to get alongside the leader, as the caution again flew on lap 12 for several cars spinning and getting collected in turn three once again. On the restart, Patrick continued to lead with Nolden still trying to find a way past on the inside, while Gaserude was now working the outside groove. Gaserude kept working away on the outside groove, leading by a nose or more at the finish line to conclude each lap, while Patrick remained tough on the inside. A caution on lap twenty caused by a spinning car was all that Gaserude needed, as he was now the official leader, having led the field to the line during the last completed lap. On the restart, Gaserude quickly pulled out to a comfortable lead, as Nolden once again worked outside of Patrick for second. Nolden could not make the outside work for him, as he dropped back, allowing Patrick, Al Weishoff, and Ron Bishofberger to pass before he could get into the groove. In the end, Gaserude would take the win, followed by Patrick, Weishoff, Bishofberger, and Nolden. Ron Bishofberger set fast time, with heat race victories going to Tiffany Desjarlais, Nick Wendt, and Kyle Jarlsberg.

Full Results

Columbus, WI. (Friday June 8, 2012). Ron Bishofberger gained his twenty-seventh career feature victory in the late model division at the Columbus 151 Speedway on Friday night, tying him with Pete Moore atop the all-time winners list.

Veteran Jerry Eckhardt took the initial lead in the late model main event, with Spencer Schultz and Kyle Jarlsberg in tow. The caution flag was displayed on lap 16 for a spin, and with the pick-your-lane cone present, Bishofberger made the bold move to try the tricky outside groove. He then played this to perfection, getting alongside Eckhardt for a couple of laps, before taking the lead for good. Another veteran, Don Gaserude, also followed suit. Bishofberger and Gaserude then pulled away from the pack, leaving Eckhardt to battle with Schultz and Jarlsberg, with the finishing order remaining the same amongst the top five. Earlier in the evening heat race victories were recorded by Rob Retallick, Schultz, and Nick Nolden.

Full Results

Columbus, WI. (Friday, June 1, 2012). Nick Nolden of Sun Prairie notched his first late model feature win of the season on Friday night at the Columbus 151 Speedway, holding off a late charge by Nick Wendt to gain the win.

Chad Devine and Jerry Eckhardt brought the field to green on the start, with Devine clearing Eckhardt on lap 2. Meanwhile, Nolden was moving through the pack from his third row starting slot, working inside of fourth place Billy Gray, with Wendt keeping pace as well. Nolden took over the third position on lap 6 from Eckhardt, and took the second position from Spencer Schultz two laps later. One lap later, Nolden worked past Devine for the lead, and began pulling away. The caution flag waved on lap 26, for a two car skirmish back in the pack. On the restart, Al Weishoff and Don Gaserude moved to the outside, while Wendt made a quick pass of Devine for second. Nolden and Wendt pulled away to wage their own battle, while Devine held third, with Schultz on his bumper. On lap 31, Schultz made contact with Devine, sending him spinning, which relegated both to the rear of the field. On the restart, Nolden held court, with Wendt looking for a way to pass. Nolden held on, with Wendt finishing second. Rounding out the top five were Curt Clapper, Don Gaserude, and Al Weishoff. Fast time was set by Ron Bishofberger, with heat race victories going to Tiffany Desjarlais, Devine, and Clapper.

By: Eric Huenefeld
On Memorial Day Monday, the Big 8 Late Model Series presented by Gandrud Chevrolet made it's second ever stop at the Columbus 151 Speedway, and for the second straight time, the Series did not disappoint on the tight quarter mile oval.

Full Results

Columbus, WI. (Monday, May 28, 2012). Kyle Stark notched another feather in his cap of impressive victories as he passed Devon Dixon with twelve laps to go and cruised to victory in the 40 lap Bandit Blast, which was run in conjunction with the Big 8 series late models at Columbus 151 Speedway on Memorial Day afternoon.

Columbus, WI. (Friday, May 25, 2012). Rain showers during qualifications and the forecast for more wet weather throughout the evening forced the cancellation of the racing events at the Columbus 151 Speedway on Friday night.

Last year’s Memorial Day winner Jeremy Miller and current Big 8 Series point leader Driver X, Jon Reynolds, Jr both have their sights set on Columbus 151 Speedway this Memorial Day Monday afternoon May 28. Miller found his first visit to the tough quarter mile nestled in the heart of Wisconsin’s dairyland to his liking while Driver X saw a charge through the field end in turmoil. Both drivers will have their hands full once again during the 68 lap feature event as the top weekly late model racers from across the state challenge the hometown contingent.

Full Results

by Charlie Spry
Columbus, WI. (Sunday, May 20, 2012). Al Weishoff of Columbus took control of the early season point standings by taking control of the late model feature when it counted the most... The end.

Click Here for the Full Results

by Charlie Spry
Columbus, WI. (Sunday May 13, 2012). Jimmy Ganski of Rosholt, WI., made the long trip to the track worthwhile, as he drove off to his first career feature victory in the late model division. Spencer Schultz and Ganski made up the front row on the start, with Schultz taking the position early. On lap four, Schultz got loose in turns 3-4, allowing Ganski to slip past into a lead he would never relinquish. Cautions on lap 13 and 15 brought the field up to Ganski's rear bumper, but each time Ganski was up to the task, as Al Weishoff and Casey Johnson began reeling the leader in. Each time it appeared as though the pair might catch the leader, Ganski seemed to drive harder to maintain the lead. Ganski held on at the end for his first career victory in a late model at any track, while Weishoff took second place ahead of Johnson, Curt Clapper, and Dave Edwards. Don Gaserude set fast time, with heat race victories going to Nick Nolden, Brady Liddle, and Michael Clapper.

Racing is canceled for Sunday, May 6th due to weather conditions.

Recent Galleries

Recent Gallery Link Recent Gallery Link Recent Gallery Link Recent Gallery Link

Track Information

Phone 608.233.1022 • Track 920.623.4393

Friday Night Racing
Gates Open 5:00PM • Qualifying 6:30PM • Racing 8:00PM
Late Models, Street Stocks, Hobby Stock, Back-up Cars, Bandits

Directions / MapFacebook Page
Mailing Address: PO Box 304 McFarland, WI 53558