Next Event

‘Potluck Awards Banquet’
Saturday, October 18th at 1:00 pm

More Details | 2014 Division Rules



Columbus, WI. (Friday, Sept. 5, 2014). Ron Bishofberger won his fourth late model feature of the season Friday night, but Don Gaserude scored the win in the points battle, taking home the track championship.

Lincoln Keeser took the lead at the start of the late model feature, with Ken Jacoby jumping in behind. Bishofberger was already up to third by lap 10, as Keeser continued to lead. Bishofberger made the outside groove work, as he passed by Jacoby for second on lap 11, then after a brief caution period, Bishofberger again looked outside, shooting by Keeser for the lead the following lap. After another caution, the lineup was shuffled a bit as several drivers used the cone restart to advance positions, as Nick Wendt was now alongside Bishofberger. The pair pulled away from the others, with Gaserude now running third. Not much changed after another caution, as Bishofberger again pulled away and took the checkers first over Wendt, Gaserude, Brady Liddle, and Pete Moore. Liddle was the fastest qualifier for the evening, with Jake Vanoskey and Jerry Eckhardt winning the heat races. Don Gaserude was crowned the 2014 late model track champion, to go along with his 2012 title.

Peter Gillis took the initial lead in the street stock feature, with Collin Tomlinson and Tim Belz locked in a furious battle for second right behind. Belz repeatedly attempted to pull alongside the leader, but appeared to overheat his tires trying to make the pass, and he eventually dropped back a bit, allowing Randy Breunig to move into second, then make the pass on Gillis for the lead on lap 19. A single caution did nothing to slow Breunig down, as he roared off to a commanding lead. Gillis had to battle side by side with Tomlinson, finally gaining the position, and allowing Steven Sauer to follow down low. Breunig checked out, with Sauer making a late race pass on Gillis for second near the end of the race. Breuing took the win over Sauer, Gillis, Jason Dunn, and Tomlinson. Sauer was the fastest qualifier, with Gillis winning the heat race. Sauer had a remarkable season in winning his first track title, controlling the points battle from early in the season and winning the title by a large margin.

Eric Bennett took the early lead in the hobby stock feature, with Wayne Buchs slipping under Andy Raley for second. Bennett continued to lead, as a tight pack of cars fought right behind, with Cody Buchs finally slipping right up the middle and into the lead on lap 9. After a caution, Cody remained in the lead, but now had a challenge from his Dad, Wayne, with Chester Williams now in the mix as well. Father looked for Son to make a mistake, and while the Buchs family battled, Williams caught up to them. Try as he might, the elder Buchs could not get by the youngster, as Cody Buchs took the win over Wayne Buchs, Williams, Tony Ciano, and Bennett. Williams was the fastest qualifier, with Justin Thomas and Ciano winning the heat races. Chester Williams had trouble with his primary car in qualifying, and had to borrow Jim Wolf's ride for the feature, but he had built up a large point margin all season, and was named the 2014 hobby stock track champion.

Mckayla Adams was the leader at the start of the Bandit feature, with Jeremy Bredeson and Jamie Kohn quickly moving in. Bredeson split the difference on Adams and Tara Belz, taking the lead on lap 8, with Brandon Condroski following. Condroski shadowed Bredeson, but had Keith Erickson and Kohn in his mirror. Condroski could get up to Bredeson's rear bumper, but that was all, as Bredeson took home his second feature win in a row over Condroski, Erickson, Kohn, and Jim Steinbach. Bredeson was also the fastest qualifier for the evening, with Ronnie Coppernoll and Condroski winning the heat races. Keith Erickson won the 2014 Bandit championship, having a superb season.

Zachary Smith was the early leader in the Backup car feature, with several cars losing control at the back of the pack and slowing, but not causing a caution. This shuffled things up a bit, with Dave Moore getting around Smith for the lead on lap 2. Cars running from 3-5th place all collided, causing another fracas, with Smith also going off the track at this time. Throughout all of this, Moore remained calm and kept a steady pace up front, with Smith and George Wachuta getting together at the end. Throughout all of this action, Moore took the win over Ryan Oetzel, Andy Ward, Wayne Hook, and Smith. Andy Ward took home the 2014 Backup division championship, to go along with his 2012 title.

Recent Galleries

Recent Gallery Link Recent Gallery Link Recent Gallery Link Recent Gallery Link

Track Information

Phone 608.233.1022 • Track 920.623.4393

Friday Night Racing
Gates Open 5:00PM • Qualifying 6:30PM • Racing 8:00PM
Late Models, Street Stocks, Hobby Stock, Back-up Cars, Bandits

Directions / MapFacebook Page
Mailing Address: PO Box 304 McFarland, WI 53558