Next Event

‘Potluck Awards Banquet’
Saturday, October 18th at 1:00 pm

More Details | 2014 Division Rules


Full Results

Columbus, WI. (Friday, August 29, 2014). Late model racer Jake Vanoskey has been close several times to winning a feature event at the track, but something always seemed to come up and prevent it from happening. Tonight, it was clear sailing all the way to the checkers, as he led from start to finish in the headliner to grab his first career feature win.

Vanoskey shot into the lead at the start of the event, taking the lead from fellow front row starter Ken Jacoby. Meanwhile, Lincoln Keeser settled into second, with several cars bumper to bumper. Vanoskey began to pull away to a large lead, as the field tried to sort itself out behind. Tory Adams worked under Jerry Eckhardt for the third spot on lap 6, with Don Gaserude also in the mix. Vanoskey enjoyed the sight in his mirror, putting some distance between himself and the rest, as Adams tried to find a way around Keeser. Looking high and low, laps were ticking off, as Adams finally made the pass on Keeser with five laps to go, with Gaserude also getting by. Vanoskey was in his own time zone by now, appearing to take cautious laps, knowing that he had the event won unless something crazy happened. Adams cut into the lead a bit, but it was too little, too late, as Vanoskey drove a flawless race to get the win, passing under the checkers with his hand held high out the window. Adams brought it home in second, followed by Gaserude, Keeser, and Brady Liddle. Gaserude was the fastest qualifier, with heat wins going to Vanoskey and Eckhardt.

Tim Belz took the lead at the start of the street stock feature, with Ed Jackson second. Steven Sauer set fast time during qualifications and won his heat, needing only to win the feature to get the clean sweep, and everyone was watching to see if this would materialize. It looked good early on, as Sauer took to the outside groove, passing cars on the outside, getting past Jackson for second by lap 7. Belz had pulled away to a good sized lead by this time, but Sauer immediately chopped away at it. Sauer got to the bumper, then tried the outside repeatedly to get by Belz, but it didn't work, as Belz held on to win his third feature of the season here. Sauer took second, followed by Jackson, Dan Schmidt, and Collin Tomlinson.

Eric Bennett was the early leader in the hobby stock feature, with Korey Bengsch in second and Jim Wolf third. Wolf got by Bengsch, then took the lead from Bennett, with Tony Ciano and Phillip Wuesthoff following. Wuesthoff was able to get under Ciano for second on lap 7, with Dustin Ward taking third, as Ciano lost his stride momentarily. Wuesthoff went to the outside groove to make the pass on Wolf for the lead on lap 9, with Chester Williams and Cody Buchs moving up, and Ward dropping back. The caution flew on lap 13 when Ward lost a wheel on his racer, coasting to a stop at turn two. On the restart, Wuesthoff continued to lead, with Williams now alongside, looking for the lead, as Buchs followed. Williams' couldn't make the outside work for him, as Buchs took advantage, slipping by on the inside, as Wuesthoff continued up front. With heavy pressure, Wuesthoff controlled the rest of the race, taking the win over Buchs, Williams, Ciano, and Wolf. Williams was the fastest qualifier, with heat wins going to Justin Thomas and Jeffrey Lefave, Jr.

Tara Belz took the early lead in the Bandit feature, holding it until the caution flew on lap 2. On the restart, Belz again held the lead, with Ronnie Coppernoll looking to make the pass outside. Jeremy Bredeson was now appearing on the scene, as he grabbed the third spot, with Brandon Delacy and Keith Erickson also knifing through the tight pack. Belz had the lead until lap 8, when Bredeson worked by on the outside, bringing Erickson along as well. After another caution on lap 12, Bredeson maintained the lead over Erickson, who stayed pat behind Bredeson. In the end, it was all Bredeson, winning over Erickson, Delacy, Josh Rusch, and Dalton Jones. Jamie Kohn was the fast qualifier, with heat wins going to Belz and Bill Kohn

Dave Moore was the early leader in the Backup car feature, with George Wachuta challenging. Wachuta wavered and flew through the infield grass, not once, but twice, running near the front both times. Moore continued to lead over Andy Ward and Zachary Smith, with Moore and Ward side by side, swapping the lead throughout the rest of the race. In the end, Ward was able to prevail over Moore, Matt Wachuta, Smith, and Rick Verdon.

Recent Galleries

Recent Gallery Link Recent Gallery Link Recent Gallery Link Recent Gallery Link

Track Information

Phone 608.233.1022 • Track 920.623.4393

Friday Night Racing
Gates Open 5:00PM • Qualifying 6:30PM • Racing 8:00PM
Late Models, Street Stocks, Hobby Stock, Back-up Cars, Bandits

Directions / MapFacebook Page
Mailing Address: PO Box 304 McFarland, WI 53558