Next Event

‘Potluck Awards Banquet’
Saturday, October 18th at 1:00 pm

More Details | 2014 Division Rules


Full Results

Columbus, WI. (Friday, August 15, 2014). Brett Wenzel started racing at the Columbus 151 Speedway only a couple of weeks ago, but it didn't take him long to figure things out, as he won the late model feature Friday night.

Lincoln Keeser took the early lead in the late model main event, with Brett Wenzel, Bill Retallick, and Jake Vanoskey pulling away from the tight pack of cars. The first caution came about on lap 9, when Keeser barely clipped a car that had spun out just off of turn two, in a bad location. While Keeser's car seemed to have little damage, it was just enough to cut down a tire, and he had to go to the pits for service. Wenzel was now in the lead on the restart, and had to do battle with Vanoskey, as Ron Bishofberger worked his way into third. Bishofberger was able to get around Vanoskey, with Don Gaserude also entering the picture now. The caution was once again displayed when Tory Adams got into John Wasserburger, placing both at the back on the ensuing restart. Throughout two more cautions in the later stages of the race, Wenzel repeatedly had his hands full with either Vanoskey, Bishofberger, or both knocking at his door. In the end, Wenzel had just enough to take the win over Bishofberger, Gaserude, Vanoskey, and Brady Liddle. Liddle set fast time, with Keeser and Vanoskey winning the heat races.

Josh Fehrmann and Peter Gillis paced the field at the start of the street stock feature, with Tim Belz going under the pair on the first lap, getting the lead. Randy Breunig followed Belz, then made a quick move into the lead, with Steven Sauer taking second from Belz on lap 11. Breunig had built up a large lead, but Sauer slowly chewed away at it, running out of time, as Breunig took the win over Sauer, Belz, Dan Schmidt, and Brad Hetzel. Sauer was the fastest in qualifications, with Collin Tomlinson winning the heat race.

The hobby stock feature was likely the most entertaining feature of the evening, as Wayne Buchs was making his first start of the year, but had troubles with his car in hot laps, jumping into Jim Wolf's car to race. Korey Bengsch and Buchs started on the front row for the feature, with the pair swapping the lead in the early stages. Buchs finally cleared for the lead on lap 10, with Jim Tate Jr. quickly up to second. Tate moved alongside to challenge Buchs, while right behind the lead pair Chester Williams and Cody Buchs ran side by side. Wayne Buchs was able to take the win by inches over Tate, while Williams edged out Cody Buchs for third, followed by Tony Ciano. Cody Buchs was the fastest qualifier, while Wayne Buchs won the heat race.

Austin Bennett took the early lead in the Bandit feature, but Josh Rusch worked his way into the lead by the second lap after a first lap caution had allowed several frontrunners to move up in the pack by choosing the outside groove. Keith Erickson was immediately in the picture, battling with Rusch for several laps before taking the lead, as Rusch bobbled. Jeremy Bredeson and Jamie Kohn moved into contention in short order, as Erickson extended his lead, only to have the caution come out. Once back underway, Erickson left the field in his mirror, as Bredeson, Rusch, and Kohn trailed. Rusch dropped back to fourth, with Bredeson and Kohn battling for second. Erickson prevailed, with Bredeson finishing second over Kohn, Rusch, and Noah Pankow. Dalton Jones was the fastest in qualifications, with heat wins going to Kyle Dopkins and Erickson.

Zachary Smith took the initial lead in the Backup race, with Rick Verdon stalling at the line. Andy Ward wasted little time in shooting into the lead as all of this was happening, then built up a commanding lead over Nick Weiss and Verdon. Verdon's troubles continued, as he spun into the infield on the second lap, then recovered quickly. Ward was having little trouble guiding the field, as he took the easy win, with Verdon coming back to finish second over Weiss and Wayne Hook.

The Wisconsin Sport Trucks were on hand tonight, with the feature event starting off with a three wide situation right from the start, as Drew Habeck took the early lead. Eyes were on fast timer Hayden Watzka, as he quickly challenged for the lead, getting the spot on the second lap. Watzka took control, with Todd Kostichka and Brian Vixmer taking over the second and third spots. Watzka was in his own time zone, as he pulled away for the win over Vixmer, Kostichka, Drew Habeck, and Blaine Habeck. Drew Habeck won the first heat, with Watzka winning the second to complete the clean sweep.

Join us next week for the annual Dick Moore memorial race, with extended feature laps and fireworks as well.

Recent Galleries

Recent Gallery Link Recent Gallery Link Recent Gallery Link Recent Gallery Link

Track Information

Phone 608.233.1022 • Track 920.623.4393

Friday Night Racing
Gates Open 5:00PM • Qualifying 6:30PM • Racing 8:00PM
Late Models, Street Stocks, Hobby Stock, Back-up Cars, Bandits

Directions / MapFacebook Page
Mailing Address: PO Box 304 McFarland, WI 53558