Next Event

‘Potluck Awards Banquet’
Saturday, October 18th at 1:00 pm

More Details | 2014 Division Rules


Full Results

Columbus, WI. (Friday, August 8, 2014). On a night with a nearly full moon lurking above, Brady Liddle managed to survive to the end and power away to the late model feature win at Columbus 151 Speedway.

Jerry Eckhardt took the lead at the start of the main event, pacing the field until the first caution flag of the event was waved on lap 2 for two cars spinning into the infield. On the restart, Eckhardt again took the lead, with Lincoln Keeser now in second and looking outside of Eckhardt. After another caution, Eckhardt again led over Keeser, but Don Gaserude and Ron Bishofberger were passing cars on the high side in quick succession. Gaserude was into third by lap 5 and gaining, while Brady Liddle worked inside of Bishofberger for fourth on lap 9. Gaserude took over second on lap 10, as the caution was displayed once again for a spin on lap 11. With the race restarting, Gaserude worked on the outside of Eckhardt for the lead, until lap 14, when Eckhardt got into Gaserude just enough to send him spinning, putting Gaserude into the back of the pack and Eckhardt into the pits with a flat tire. Suddenly, Liddle found himself the leader of the event, with Lincoln Keeser now back into second and Bishofberger third. Bishofberger encountered problems with his car and dropped back in the pack, finally pulling out. After another caution, Liddle remained in control, but all eyes were on Gaserude, as he once again methodically picked off cars and was able to get up to second position. Liddle cruised home the winner, over Gaserude, Keeser, Jacob Vanoskey, and Bill Retallick. Gaserude also set fast time for the evening, with heat wins going to Eckhardt and Nick Wendt.

Josh Fehrmann and Peter Gillis brought up the front row at the start of the street stock feature, with Collin Tomlinson splitting the middle on the pair and shooting into the lead early in the event. Tomlinson then pulled away to a comfortable lead, hoping to get the feature win on his birthday. However, another driver celebrating his birthday was Steven Sauer, who reeled in the leader, as the caution was displayed for a spinning car. Once back underway, the two birthday drivers battled side by side, with Ed Jackson right behind waiting for the pair to make a mistake. After a fierce battle and a little paint trading, Sauer dropped from the event with a flat tire, giving Tomlinson some breathing room the rest of the way. Tomlinson kept things going all the way to the checker to get the win over Jackson, Dan Schmidt, Gillis, and Fehrmann. Sauer set fast time, while Jackson won the heat race.

Korey Bengsch and Eric Bennett brought up the front row at the start of the hobby stock feature, with Bengsch getting the lead over a tight pack of cars. Jim Wolf spun while running second on lap 5, with Justin Kumbier leaving the racing surface at the same time with a flat tire. Bengsch now had two potent cars right on his bumper, as Chester Williams and Jim Tate Jr. were right behind. Williams shot into the lead with Tate following, as the caution flag was displayed for a two car shunt. Once back underway,Tate attempted to work on the outside of Williams for the lead briefly, but it was a no go, so he dropped back behind, as Williams increased his lead. All eyes were on the pair of Tony Ciano and Cody Buchs, as they raced through the pack, but it was all Williams over Tate, while Justin Thomas looked strong in finishing third, with Ciano and Buchs following. Buchs set fast time and won the heat race.

Mckayla Adams took the lead at the start of the Bandit feature, with some three wide racing action ensuing behind. Ronnie Coppernoll got by Scott Tiedt for second, with the caution being displayed. Once back underway, Coppernoll was able to gain a foothold and make the pass for the lead, as Bill Kohn took over second, with Keith Erickson and Jamie Kohn gaining. Erickson got by Bill Kohn for second on lap 4, with Jamie Kohn following a lap later. While this was going on, Coppernoll had increased his lead on the pack, but now would see that advantage vanish, as Erickson and Kohn caught up and the three began to battle with one another. Erickson and Kohn swapped positions a couple of times, but neither could do anything to get around Coppernoll. Finally, as the group came for the checkered flag, Erickson made one last attempt to get by Coppernoll, falling just inches short, as Coppernoll took the win over Erickson, Jamie Kohn, Bill Kohn, and Jim Steinbach. Jamie Kohn was fastest in qualifications, with Adams and Jeremy Bredeson winning the heat races.

Zachary Smith took the lead on lap one of the Backup car feature over Wayne Hook, with Ryan Oetzel chasing him down and making the pass for the lead on lap two. Smith then spun while running second, with Andy Ward now up to second. A dramatic turn of events would happen on lap 6, as Ward lost control and spun out, while Oetzel coasted to a stop on the track at about the same time, and suddenly, George Wachuta found himself with the lead and ultimate victory. Rick Verdon placed second while Oetzel took third.

Recent Galleries

Recent Gallery Link Recent Gallery Link Recent Gallery Link Recent Gallery Link

Track Information

Phone 608.233.1022 • Track 920.623.4393

Friday Night Racing
Gates Open 5:00PM • Qualifying 6:30PM • Racing 8:00PM
Late Models, Street Stocks, Hobby Stock, Back-up Cars, Bandits

Directions / MapFacebook Page
Mailing Address: PO Box 304 McFarland, WI 53558