Next Event

‘Potluck Awards Banquet’
Saturday, October 18th at 1:00 pm

More Details | 2014 Division Rules



Columbus, WI. (Friday, July 25, 2014). Veteran Ron Bishofberger took advantage of cicumstances and found himself in the right spot at the right time on Friday night at the Columbus 151 Speedway, winning his second consecutive late model feature here.

The late model main event started off with Lincoln Keeser and Jake Vanoskey battling side by side, with Keeser taking control on lap 2 over a tight pack of cars. Vanoskey dropped back a bit and now had his hands full with Tiffany Desjarlais, as this pair raced beside each other until lap 9, when Desjarlais took the spot. Andy Wendt was now on Desjarlais' rear bumper as Keeser continued to lead, with Don Gaserude also making progress on the outside. On lap 22, Wendt and Desjarlais made contact, with both spinning and being relegated to the rear of the pack on the restart, with Keeser still in control. Gaserude and Ron Bishofberger where now racing with each other back and forth, until Gaserude began to fade slightly from the outside, with Vanoskey getting third place back. From there on out, Keeser showed the way to the checkers over Bishofberger, Vanoskey, Gaserude, and Hunter Drefahl. Track officials determined that Keeser violated the white line "lane divider" in the corners a little too much, and scored him in last place, moving everyone up a spot, and thus, Bishofberger gaining the win. Earlier in the evening, Gaserude set fast time, with Keeser and Desjarlais splitting the heat wins.

Street stock racer Terry Wangsness doesn't race at Columbus very often, but when he does, he wins! In 2013, Terry made one appearance at the track, and won. Tonight, he made his first showing of 2014, and won again. He may want to race here more often!

Peter Gillis and Tim Belz started off the street stock main event by racing side by side, until Gillis got the top spot to himself on lap 2. On the next lap, Wangsness found just enough room on the inside to squeeze past Gillis and into the lead, with Collin Tomlinson and Randy Breunig following. While Wangsness stretched his lead, Steven Sauer was also making headway, moving into third, then into second past Breunig by lap 10. Wangsness kept his lead, but now, Sauer was gaining slowly but surely every lap, taking Breunig along with him. On lap 17, Sauer and Wangsness touched, with both losing momentum, allowing Breunig to jump back into second, but still trailing Wangsness. Breunig stayed glued to Wangsness' rear bumper the rest of the way, but in the end, it was Wangsness first to the checkers, followed by Breunig, Sauer, Tomlinson, and Dan Schmidt. Sauer was the fastest qualifier, with Gillis winning the heat race, his first ever.

Eric Bennett shot into the lead at the start of the hobby stock feature, with Andy Raley close behind. Bennett and Raley raced alongside each other, while Cody Buchs and Jim Tate Jr. did likewise right behind. Raley took sole ownership of the top spot on lap five, with Tate moving into second and Buchs into third. Raley and Tate raced alongside each other for a few laps, until Tate made the pass on lap 9, with Buchs then racing alongside Raley for second. Tate pulled away from their battle, with Buchs finally making the pass on Raley for second, with Chester Williams now working on getting past Raley for third. In the end, Jim Tate Jr. had too much for the others, gaining the feature win over Buchs, Williams, Raley, and Tony Ciano. Williams set fast time, with heat wins going to Raley and Justin Kumbier.

After a caution before a lap was completed, the Bandit class got off to a better start the next try, with Tara Belz taking the early lead. Jeremy Bredeson flew from the back of the pack and into third by the second lap, then took over the lead, with Jamie Kohn following. Bredeson tired, but could not shake Kohn, as Belz and Ronnie Coppernoll battled behind, with Keith Erickson waiting patiently to make his moves, but stuck in traffic. A caution on lap 6 for a stalled car was just what Erickson needed, and on the restart, he joined Bredeson and Kohn up front. From here on out, it was just a matter of who worked lapped traffic the best, as Bredeson threaded his way through, keeping just in front of Kohn and Erickson. This "Terrific Trio" of Nissan drivers often find themselves in the top positions, and so it was tonight, with Bredeson getting the win over Kohn, Erickson, Jim Steinbach, and Coppernoll. Erickson set fast time, with heat wins going to Kyle Dopkins and Bredeson.

The Backup racers again showed their stuff, racing in reverse at an unbelievably fast clip, with Andy Ward taking the lead from Wayne Hook at the start. George Wachuta moved up to second on lap 2, with Ryan Oetzel taking over third. Everyone raced pretty smoothly, with Wachuta catching Ward, trying to dive low and make the pass, but spinning out in the process. Oetzel now found himself in second, and he dove inside of Ward for the lead and ultimate win over Ward, Matt Wachuta, Zachary Smith, and Hook. This was Oetzel's second win in as many appearances this season.

Recent Galleries

Recent Gallery Link Recent Gallery Link Recent Gallery Link Recent Gallery Link

Track Information

Phone 608.233.1022 • Track 920.623.4393

Friday Night Racing
Gates Open 5:00PM • Qualifying 6:30PM • Racing 8:00PM
Late Models, Street Stocks, Hobby Stock, Back-up Cars, Bandits

Directions / MapFacebook Page
Mailing Address: PO Box 304 McFarland, WI 53558